Tags

, , , , , ,

img_1037

Dad(me) with my three little ones.  Just planted our little garden together.

I was listening to the radio today in my car, and a pastor really got my attention.  He was talking about as parents we are providers for our families that we sometimes sell our self and our families short.

He asked, “Would you sell your kid for $10,000.00?  What about $1,000,000.00?”  My obvious response as most parents was, “NO WAY”.  I was telling my wife about this at the dinner table and just as I said this, my 7 year old says, “WE ARE PRICELESS!”

This pastor interviewed a kid who said, that his father got up every morning at 4am to go to work and never got home before 7pm.   The son had no relationship with his Father and because of it the kid grew up as a loner.  This father sold himself for a paycheck and the kid paid for it.

Are you all work and no DAD?  I know that I was guilty of that for years.  My oldest son is now 17 and about to turn 18 in January 2009.  I hate to admit it, but the first 5 years of his life I was like the man above, and my son has paid for it.  I am truly sorry,  I have asked for forgiveness, repented, and I am spending more time with the family and trying to be a good dad.

jesus-with-child

We say we won’t sell our kids, but are we are selling ourselves— one paycheck at a time?

