Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today was a memorial service for a special man of God and healing evangelist, Oral Roberts.   In the last few months, I lost a high school classmate, and also another old friend from a few years ago.  I’m sure you all remember just a few months ago when one of the most gifted entertainment celebrities, Michael Jackson passed away.  Perhaps you have had a similiar loss yourself lately?  I don’t mean to be morbid or depressive by beginning this writing with such sadness and finality, but to see if you have similiar feelings as I do once in a while when friends, loved ones and respected ones pass on.

Death has a unique way of reminding us of our mortality doesn’t it?  I don’t know if it’s part of the aging process or perhaps a little spiritual nudge from the Holy Spirit reminding me to ask myself….are you ready?  Have you done all I designed you to do?  So I ask myself….if I knew I was going to die today, what would I regret if anything?  If I could do it over again, what would I do different?  Here’s a tougher one.  What if you knew you were going to die a year from today.  What if anything would you do different this next year? 

Not fun questions to ponder I know.  But that doesn’t change the fact that the inevitable is going to happen to us and maybe we should be asking ourselves not just what would we do for the next year but why?  Oh, now I really have your curiosity I’m sure .  The question can be applied to your life’s practices in general but let me narrow this writing down to your purpose in the marketplace.

Rev. 20:4  tells us we are going to rule and reign with Jesus during the 1000 reign and Rev. 22:4  says we shall rule and reign with Him forever and ever in Heaven.  So I’m wondering what we are going to rule and reign in Heaven on earth?   What a stimulating question.  Allow me to suggest a thought provoking answer.  Could it be that all the trials, tribulations and training we are going through on earth in this lifetime are training for this ruling and reigning John the Revelator is referring to? 

Whether you interpert this scripture this way or not but think maybe it  could be such, it offers a reasonable argument or hopefully incentive to apply yourself to your job and career to the very best of your God given ability.  Who knows?  God may have you slated for something similiar in eternity.

Now some of you may not be not too happy about that if your not in a field of work you really like.  So here’s your chance.  To whom much is given, much is expected.  To him who does well with a little, much more will be given to him.  Do these scriptures sound familiar?  If you going to stay on the sidelines your not going to get to play in the game.  You can start tomorrow with a fresh new approach to your work and with an attitude of doing your job a well as you or anyone else possibly can.  Applying God’s principles to your work will not only result in more success in your job, but your Godly influence will begin to impact those around you in a positive way to His cross.  

Now your positioned for promotion, so get ready.  Repeat this same process with your next work opportunity and before you know it, you will be successful in the career of your dreams.  And who knows?  God may be looking for a qualified soul to fill those shoes and more in heaven’s marketplace and you just might get a chance to do it over again, the right way.

