Although most of our members and readers are Christian, I have never put this question to the test with you.  So here goes.  How are you doing as a marketplace minister?  Your call is to minister wherever you work and that  normally means the physical workplace you operate out of.Matt.28:19-20

What do you mean minister, you say?  Well the scripture that best answers that question is “don’t just read the word and so deceive yourselves but do what it says.”Jas.1:22   In other words, what you are taught by your pastor and teachers about discipling others to the cross, are you doing it?  Another appropriate cliche is “your actions speak louder than your words.  Is your example in the workplace one that follows the word of God and gives Him glory?

I can honestly say that my example isn’t always consistent towards that end.  I can also think of plenty of excuses why I haven’t.  Circumstances sometimes were beyond my control.  Sound familiar?  Don’t feel like I’m picking on you because I am actually writing this in the mirror.  I have many areas I need to improve in if I am to truly represent Jesus in workplace and living area.

I have been thinking about this subject for a few weeks now as I personally search within myself to do a better job in my ministry efforts.  I keep coming back to two specific areas of life and ministry that I believe can hold all Christians back from becoming all they can be for God.  See if these spark you as they did me.

The first and most obvious reason that I am not a better marketplace minister is the fact that my example often lacks much to be desired if I am to claim to live like Jesus.  I am a bit too embarrassed to go to deep there on a personal level.  Can we just leave this one to each persons honest self examination with the Lord?

The second reason however is one I believe we can all do something about this very day if you fall into the category.  That is “who you are in Christ”.  Do you really know who you are in Christ?  Do you know the promises He has given the elect?  Did you know there are over 8000 promises in the word of God for believers?  Do you often say you have the faith but sometimes your unbelief gets the better end of the deal?

It’s kind of hard to minister to others when you struggle within yourself to defeat discouragement and Satan’s continual efforts to kill, rob and destroy you.  Unless you know who you are in Christ, you don’t stand a chance and you sure can’t effectively minister to others in your ignorance.

So here are two critical exercises you can work on now to develop a viable workplace ministry that has the power of God and the truth of His promises behind it.  Start by being aware of your influence and example every minute your awake and especially when you are alone.  Even in your  private times  some undesired  thoughts become actions of habit that later arise when you least expect them that can destroy your witness.

Next, search out good written biblical material on the subject of who you are in Christ.  I would suggest Neil Andersen’s book “Victory over Darkness” as a good starting place followed up with the “Bondage Breaker”.  A good website teacher is my friend Pastor Jake Diede at http://www.authorityinchrist.org  He can offer teaching materials for you that are excellent.

If you are serious about being all you are called to be as a minister of the gospel and your assignment is the marketplace, I promise you that these two efforts will change your life and more than likely, help change someone else who needs the change also.  If you want more teaching references on the subject just email me and I will be happy to send you more.

This is a serious matter in God’s eyes my friends and we need to be the best we can be if we expect to hear the words “well done my good and faithful servant.  You were faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things.  Enter into the joy of your Lord”Matt.25:21

Rich Forster  KBJ  Publisher

