Service with a smile and a prayer

1/20/23- Updated.  Original post 11/29/21. Dawn and her husband David, retired in 2022. David passed away in August of 2022.  

I was thinking the other day of my first consulting customer who is a true marketplace minister.  Dawn Anderson of Anderson Auto Glass.  I have known her for years and I have always remembered that when I am at her store she always has a smile and she is always willing to pray or share her faith with anyone walking through the door.

ALWAYS A FRIENDLY VOICE & A SMILE TO GREET YOU

David and Dawn Anderson

Anderson Auto Glass was founded May 1, 1993 by LaDonna “Dawn” Anderson.

I was raised in Galena, KS until my father went into full-time ministry.  I raised my two sons, Darrin and Jace, in the Ft. Worth Metroplex.  I’ve spent many years selling auto glass in the Ft. Worth – Dallas area.  I married David Kuhler, who is my better half in life and business and who is also a “second to none” auto glass installer.

Upon visiting this area after my parents, Rev. & Mrs. Donald J. Anderson, moved back to Galena, my husband and I felt led to be close to my parents.  Donald, who Dave and I call “Pops”, has built his own reputation with Anderson Auto Glass as being an “Ace” rock chip repair man, always eager to help.  After searching for auto glass jobs, I saw the need for a top quality MOBILE auto glass business in this ever growing city.  A growing town means busier people.

I’ve spent all my time starting my own business.  I already had the best installer behind me, and although Dave was very skeptical, he told me to go for it.  I made an office in our home, started a mobile service and pounded the pavement, so to speak.  3 years later, on July 1, 1996, we moved Anderson Auto Glass UP TO THE EAST SIDE!

Anderson Glass is located at 602 W. 7th Street Joplin, Mo.

img_5999

 

Marketplace Ministry typically refers to evangelism or other Christian activities that are targeted towards the secular workplace, as opposed to homes, churches, or specialized venues.

EXAMPLE;

December 28, 2016

Marketplace Ministry in Action!

free-hugs hug

In 1 hour,,,,honks and waves were off the charts. I had approximately 15 pull off the road for a hug. The wind was atrocious. My most precious hug was a man around 25, pull off, get out and come up for his hug. As I hugged him, he cried and said “Mam, you have no idea how bad I need a hug today.” I don’t know the young mans problems or what he’s gone through, but if he were the only one, it would have been worth the hour. I had one man whip around the corner and came walking up and got 2 hugs and forced me to take a dollar. My second precious was a FAMILY!!!!!! YES! A FAMILY! 4 teens and younger and their dad! Amazing! Now let us not forget the one young man who decided to flip me off. Did that bother me? NOPE! I bothered HIM! 😂😂. I’m thinking this will be something I do often at my shop.

So, no matter what business you are in, you can give a smile, a prayer, and even a hug!

Leave a comment